What’s In A Number

cooper-numberBy Taylor Cooper

There are two reasons why I wear the jersey number #3.

The first reason is because of Candace Parker. She was my favorite women’s basketball player growing up. She was who I idolized. She was the complete player and that’s how I’ve always wanted to be looked at as a basketball player. After two years of high school I decided that I wanted to change my number, to kind of define my own identity. But I ended up keeping #3  to honor one of my good friends Kyle Lewis.

number-cooperKyle and I were good friends all throughout middle school and high school. His dad coached my dad throughout high school and so we had always been close. Kyle wore number #3 in basketball also and I was always inspired by the way he played. He was the type of player that was always on the floor diving for loose balls, taking charges, and he could shoot the 3. He was the heart and soul of the team just because of how hard he played and the attitude and mindset he brought each and every day. Before my junior year of high school Kyle was killed in a car accident coming back from a golf tournament. He had committed to play golf at the University of Oklahoma and was coming back from one of his last tournaments for the summer. So the reason why I kept the number three as my jersey number is to honor him.