My Last First Day of Practice

tyce-aggie-way-pic2

By Curtyce Knox

My last first day of practice!

I go into this practice with a clear and concise understanding of my role as the point guard and leader, armed with the knowledge that comes with the experience I have received over the past four years.  I have had the opportunity to be coached by one of the best coaching staffs in the country.  For the fifth year, I will go into my last first day of practice with a different attitude – willing to learn and willing to teach.

Having five new players it will be a learning process in our first few days of practice, but I know it is my job as well as the coaches to help them adapt and understand how things work.  I want to inspire them to learn our offense and defense while handling our demanding practices.

Up until now, we have all worked individually with our position coach while dedicating ourselves to strength and conditioning.  Now it is time!  It is time to put all of that work together as a unit and make magic happen.  As Coach Blair says, “we are not rebuilding, we are reloading.”

I have grown so much over these last four years – on and off the court – thanks to this coaching staff.  They’ve even brought in great coaches to talk with us such as Don Meyer and Kevin Eastman along with the likes of team building speaker Felicia Allen-Hall.  I had the opportunity to sit down with WNBA point guard Temeka Johnson who really inspired and motivated me and that is a moment that I will cherish forever.  All of these people have left a message that resonated with me.

My last first day of practice!

I go in on a mission and with team and individual goals.  For the team, my goal is simply to be the best that we can be and to maintain the trust and respect of our fans as well as make our coaches proud of our effort. My personal goal is to LEAD!  Lead by example on and off the court and be a great teammate.  Another goal of mind is to have a breakout season that will have me considered to play on the next level.

And I know I’m prepared because of both success and failure…because of strengths and weaknesses…because of the hurdles I’ve had to overcome.  I’m prepared!

And it all begins Tuesday, October 4 – on my last first day of practice.

“The price of success is hard work, dedication to the job at hand, and the determination that whether we win or lose, we have applied the best of ourselves to the task at hand.”

-Vince Lombardi