The Thrill of the Walk

aaa tyceBy Gary Blair, Head Coach

I have been truly blessed during my 38 years as a collegiate coach, and my 14 years at Texas A&M. There have been many wins, conference championship, Final Four trips, and the 2011 National Championship.

The victories are secondary to the relationships that I have developed with each young lady that I have been privileged to coach. One of the crowning moments of each of those relationships is watching them walk across the stage and receive their diploma.

Today, I am thrilled as Danielle Adams, Curtyce Knox and Courtney Williams walk the stage to become the most recent women’s basketball players to graduate from Texas A&M. It is fulfilling as a coach to see the smile on their faces as they are handed their diploma, and then to witness the proud family members, taking photo after photo, makes it a moment that is truly special.

This moment also means so much more to my staff and I, because of the relationships we have with our student-athletes. Each graduate has a unique story, as each one has overcome adversity somewhere along their path. They have each had their own journey to travel to get to this special day and it means a great deal for me as a coach to know that I was a part of them reaching this goal.

Of course my job is not done. I believe in coaching “my kids” for eternity. One of my messages to them is walking across that stage is not the destination, but it is the beginning of a new chapter of their life. This new journey will also have obstacles to overcome, bends in the road, highs and lows. However, their experiences wearing the Texas A&M jersey gave them great preparation for all that is ahead.

After all, that’s the Aggie Way!

Leave a Reply

